How Many Counties Are in Alabama?

If you are wondering how many counties are in Alabama, you have come to the right place! Alabama is a southeastern state in the United States and is known for its rich history, vibrant culture, and beautiful landscapes. With its diverse population and varied geography, Alabama is divided into several counties. In this article, we will explore the number of counties in Alabama and delve into some interesting facts about each county. So, let’s get started!

How Many Counties Are in Alabama?

Alabama is divided into a total of 67 counties. This makes Alabama one of the states with the highest number of counties in the United States. Each county is unique in its own way, with its own history, culture, and attractions. The counties in Alabama play an important role in local governance and provide various services to their residents. Let’s take a closer look at some of the counties in Alabama and their characteristics.

Interesting Facts About Some Alabama Counties

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is one of the most populous counties in Alabama and home to the city of Birmingham, which is the largest city in the state. It was named after Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States. Jefferson County has a rich history and played a significant role in the development of Alabama’s industrial sector. The county is also known for its beautiful parks, museums, and cultural festivals.

Mobile County

Mobile County is located in the southwestern part of Alabama and is the second most populous county in the state. The county seat is the city of Mobile, which is known for its vibrant Mardi Gras celebrations. Mobile County has a diverse economy with industries such as shipbuilding, aerospace, and healthcare. The county is also home to several beautiful beaches and offers various outdoor recreational activities.


Madison County

Madison County is situated in the northern part of Alabama and is home to the city of Huntsville, which is known for its high-tech industries and NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center. The county is also known for its natural beauty, with the Monte Sano State Park and the Wheeler National Wildlife Refuge offering opportunities for outdoor activities. Madison County has a thriving arts and culture scene, with numerous museums, galleries, and theaters.

Montgomery County

Montgomery County, located in central Alabama, is the capital county of the state. The county seat is the city of Montgomery, which played a crucial role in the civil rights movement. Montgomery County is known for its historical landmarks, such as the Civil Rights Memorial and the Alabama State Capitol. The county offers a blend of history, culture, and entertainment, with museums, theaters, and vibrant festivals.

Baldwin County

Baldwin County is located along the Gulf Coast in southwestern Alabama and is known for its beautiful beaches, including the popular Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. The county is a popular tourist destination, offering a range of outdoor activities such as fishing, boating, and golfing. Baldwin County also has a rich history and is home to several historic sites, including Fort Morgan and the Baldwin County Heritage Museum.

Shelby County

Shelby County is situated in the central part of Alabama and is one of the fastest-growing counties in the state. The county offers a mix of suburban and rural landscapes, with picturesque towns and natural beauty. Shelby County is known for its excellent school systems, vibrant communities, and recreational opportunities. The county is home to Oak Mountain State Park, which is one of Alabama’s largest state parks.



Alabama is divided into 67 counties, each with its own unique characteristics and attractions. From the bustling city of Birmingham in Jefferson County to the beautiful beaches of Baldwin County, there is something for everyone in Alabama. Whether you are interested in history, culture, outdoor activities, or vibrant festivals, you will find it in one of Alabama’s diverse counties. So, next time you find yourself wondering how many counties are in Alabama, remember that there are 67 waiting to be explored!

Leave a Comment